I think dessert should be eaten first.

I also think that chocolate and sugar and butter should have no calories. They could at least be nutritious and beneficial to my health the way fruits and vegetables claim to be. Why doesn’t spinach taste like dark chocolate filled with peanut butter? A cup of spinach has what? Like, 20 calories? A cup of chocolate and peanut butter has more calories than anyone wants to talk about. The only thing that benefits from mass quantities of chocolate and sugar and butter are my hips, and not in a good way. Dark chocolate has all those antioxidants though, yeah? Justified.

But I still think we should eat dessert first and it should always be delicious. I’d also prefer to have made it myself, but I’ll settle for another persons baked goods or sweets from time to time because let’s face it, I don’t have the time to spend in the kitchen as much as I’d like.

Everyone has got a resolution to lose weight or make more money or find a significant other or get abs like Jillian Michaels. My resolution this year is to spend more time in the kitchen. I love baking; I like cooking. I don’t know that I’m necessarily any better than anyone else at either of them. But, for me and just for me (and all the people who eat whatever comes out of my kitchen or any kitchen I’ve put my feet in), I want to spend more time doing what I enjoy… which happens to be standing elbow deep in some form of sugar, chocolate, cinnamon, caramel, vanilla bean mixture. And occasionally some bacon and chicken and green leafy vegetable because someone says I can’t eat only sugar for the rest of my life. I mean, I am only 24. I’d like to live to see at least 80. Maybe 90…

Surrounded by people that I love and love me and pretend to love my baked disasters goods.

And abs like Jillian Michaels couldn’t hurt. I don’t even need a million dollars. Half a million would be okay. I promise I’d build a sweet kitchen and do nothing else frivolous with the money. Because multiple ovens and Kitchen Aid mixers are certainly not frivolous. They’re necessities. Dessert necessities.

– Kimberly

This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

