Calorie Free Noodles?

Now I’m not one of those muscle head guys that watches everything I eat so I can stay trim and fit (I mean c’mon just read our last post). But I do try to watch what I eat and be healthy. I also love to try new things. So when I googled “calorie free food” just for fun and shirataki noodles came up I was intrigued. Shirataki noodles are made from yam flour and are full of dietary fiber and that’s about it. They are mostly found in specialty Asian markets or occasionally next to the tofu at a regular grocery store. Okay, my Alton Brown moment is over.

It just so happens that there is an Asian supermarket by Kimberly’s house. AND since I’m A) a nice guy  B) a great boyfriend  C) and feeling culinarily intrigued, off to the store I went to buy all the things I needed to make dinner for Kimberly.

For those of you that have never had the pleasure of going to an Asian supermarket you should try it. It’s an experience. Not in a bad way, it’s just…an experience. Anyway, after wandering through the various parts of the store I found my “noodles”. I use parenthesis because well they are almost see through and packaged in some plastic bag filled with some sort of watery solution and frankly they don’t look very appetizing. And to top it all off when I googled “recipes for shirataki noodles” there posts like “Finally a tasty shirataki noodle recipe!” But I’m not scared I can do this. Okay I’m terrified but oh well.

Next stop, Meijer. I picked up the usual things needed for stir fry. Carrots, snow peas, broccoli, mushrooms and chicken. Okay, I admit I cheated a little bit and bought one of those bags of fresh stir fry vegetables and then added mushrooms but gimme a break. It was a week night. I also love the grocery store; I could spend hours in there looking at all the stuff. I’m a freak, I know. So by the time I got done looking shopping, Kimberly called me and met me at the store. Which was good because she persuaded me to buy a tube of ginger, water chestnuts, baby corn and ponzu sauce as well.

Now on to the actual cooking. We get home and excitedly tear open the noodles only to be greeted with the most terrible smell I have experienced in a while. If you are daring enough to try this recipe, don’t let this stop you. Keep going; it turns out good. Rinse them off. We put them into a colander and let water run over them for about 15 minutes while the other stuff cooked.

While the noodles are draining add your carrots, broccoli, snow peas, water chestnuts, baby corn and chicken to a wok with equal parts soy sauce and ponzu sauce (between 2-3 tbs each) add about a teaspoon paprika, a 1/2 teaspoon chili powder, about 2 teaspoons of tubed ginger, and a few cracks of pepper. Toss it all around. When the chicken looks close to being done take the mushrooms and noodles, and add them to the mix. Cook for another 5 minutes or so; just enough time for the noodles to soak up the flavor and get warm. Then enjoy!

Healthy stir fry!

Okay I admit the dish isn’t for everyone. The noodles have a unique texture. So if you’re a texture person you may not like it. But the flavor was good and the whole wok of stir fry had probably about 600 calories in it. Which meant we didn’t feel guilty about splitting a pint of raspberry sorbetto for dessert!

-Shaun

This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

