We do this because sometimes we like to eat cake.

Hi. My name is Kimberly and I’m an addict. I’m addicted to baking. I’m also addicted to working out. I reason that the latter addiction makes the previous addiction okay, because included in that addiction to baking is also an addiction to eating said baked goods. I may also eat things I don’t bake on occasion.

I like sugar. It’s a problem.

Anyway, I’ve become addicted to spinning classes. I started a little over a week ago and now I’m hooked. I’ve been 5 times this week. The instructor at my gym on Thursday night was phenomenal. I didn’t even realize 60 minutes had gone by until she started stretching and asking us to slow down. She was motivating but nice. I didn’t feel like she’d actually yell at me if I slowed down, but I was scared to find out. It was the best kind of hurt when I finally got off the bike. I even braved the -2 degree weather this morning to go to spinning.

So, yes, I am an addict.

And now I have a raspberry coffee cake with granola topping in the oven… Food Network on the television. I’m just getting in all kinds of therapy today.

Raspberry Crumb Cake

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal, coarsely ground (quick cooking)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup apple juice or cider
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups raspberries (I think you could use any berry)
  • granola or struesel topping (I used a few tablespoons of butter, 1/3 cup oats and a few tablespoons brown sugar)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Add the egg and mix until thoroughly incorporated. Add the apple juice and applesauce. Fold in the raspberries.

I baked mine in a 9 inch spring form pan that I coated with a nonstick cooking spray. I sprinkled the struesel topping on the batter and baked it for about 35 minutes.

-Kimberly

This entry was posted in baking, ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

