Love your inner dork.

I’m obsessed with jelly beans. All kinds, I don’t discriminate. I love Easter because the abundance of jelly beans and jelly bean flavors is absurd. I love Skittles and Starburst and Nerd flavored jelly beans. I don’t really care for the cheap off brand stuff though. They taste like plastic. Okay, so I guess I do discriminate. I’m a jelly bean snob.

Today Shaun and I sat on the couch with a new found bag of jelly beans from Trader Joe’s. 18 different flavors with natural colors. 18 flavors!!! Do you understand how exciting that is?
Insert comment about my nerdy-ness.

Eighteen Fluffin Flavors!!!

 

After picking out all of the licorice flavored beans (if you eat those, I’m sorry for you and your taste buds), we successfully sampled each jelly bean by corresponding the color to the picture on the bag. Jelly bean obsession is just one of my many quirky nerdy weird qualities.

We always talk about how we’re so nerdy about something or another. I’m nerdy about languages and linguistics and baking. Shaun’s got his paramedic/photoboy/cooking nerdisms (can that be a word?). We both get hyped about things like sample Saturday and going to the dog park. We plan trips to see where Fiestaware is made and our ultimate trip would involve some sort of a brewery or vineyard tour.

Today we walked around Trader Joe’s with a cookbook.

Unusual? No. Lots of people walk around grocery stores carrying cookbooks. Okay, maybe not lots but it happens.

Did I mention that cookbook was for puppies? Unusual? Yeah, probably. Embrace it. We have. It’s one of our nerdisms.

A friend of mine bought me a doggy treat cookbook a few years back for my birthday. Today we put that book to good use and cooked up some apple carrot dumpling something or anothers for our pooch (ya know, the one that lived through that fiasco of a chocolate cake?).

And we may have eaten a couple 6 to try them out. Ya know what? They’re pretty people friendly too.

Apple Carrot Doggy Dumplings

  • 1 carrot
  • 1 apple
  • about a cup spelt flour
  • about a cup rolled oats
  • 3 tablespoons molasses
  • 2 eggs

I whirled the diced carrot and apple around in Shaun’s food processor Magic Bullet and then mixed it thoroughly with the other ingredients.

I had to add a little more flour to bulk up the batter and make it stick together.

Bake those little guys in whatever size you want (we went with teaspoon drops because we like to give little treats for good behavior) for 30 minutes in the oven at 350 degrees F. Turn the oven off and let them dry out in the oven a bit to achieve a doggy biscuit-like texture.

The moral of the story: bake treats for your dog. Embrace your nerd inside. We don’t judge.

-Kimberly

This entry was posted in baking, ramblings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love your inner dork.

  1. Great looking food I have to say! 🙂

Leave a Reply

